Conference announces 2016 All PAC-8 Teams

Conference announces 2016 All PAC-8 Teams

February 4, 2016
South Lake Tahoe, CA

Before the 2016 PAC-8 Championship Tournament began last weekend, the teams in the PAC-8 Conference attended a banquet Thursday night to honor those that received postseason awards from the conference.

The first, second, and third All-PAC-8 teams were announced at the banquet along with the PAC 8 Coach of the Year award. Each coach in the conference was able to nominate six players from their teams to be available to receive the awards. The coaches then voted on the awards with each team being unable to vote for their own players.

The coaches were also asked to vote for which coach deserved the Coach of the Year award, which was awarded to Utah head coach Brett Huras who received the most votes. Huras, in his first season at Utah, coached Utah to a 8-0 conference record and a 25-2-3 overall record as he won the award for the first time.

Each All-PAC-8 team features three forwards, two defensemen and a goaltender. All seven teams in the PAC 8 were featured in the awards.

First Team All-PAC 8
Forwards: Nick Kawasaki (California), Brett Myer (Utah), Nick Sciabarra (Oregon)
Defensemen: Nicholas Katzaroff (UCLA), Kurtis Kunz (Utah)
Goaltender: Chris Komma (Utah)

Second Team All-PAC 8
Forwards: David Begert (USC), Cory Newman (USC), Chase McDonald (Utah)
Defensemen: Troy Gasser (Washington), Jeffrey Leong (California)
Goaltender: James Feldman (Washington)

Third Team All-PAC 8
Forwards: Michael Ahern (Utah), Tavin Jackson (Washington), Zach Sonnichsen (Washington State)
Defensemen: Ryan Jaromin (Washington), Dean Wilson (Utah)
Goaltender: Jackson Howery (Oregon)